PureFlix Challenge

As I sit here in a coffee shop, eating a scone and sipping on my Americano, with Stephen King’s Carrie sitting idly on the table, I legitimately question what I am doing with my life. 3 or 4 days ago I signed up for my free month subscription of PureFlix. I still don’t know what I’m doing.

PureFlix, if you’re unfamiliar with it, is essentially a Christian-based media/movie streaming company. It’s style and format is extremely similar to Netflix, yet it promotes its “family friendly” entertainment above all else. I have been spammed with PureFlix advertisements since a its inception. Having the majority of your friend group being conservative Evangelicals or Pentecostals will do that. Needless to say, I decided to bite. I mean, what could I lose in a free month of Christian media?

So, I am beginning a challenge for myself. My goal is to watch a film or TV series from the majority of categories by the end of my free month, then reflect on my experiences. PureFlix offers everything from Bible dramas to Children’s TV, so this will be interesting. This will also be a difficult task for me, for I stopped consuming Christian media, movies, music, etc during my freshman year of college. It will be hard to consume it after so many years and not automatically criticize it.

Where will I be at the end of this? Only time will tell.

¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Leave a Reply

